Zero Tolerance Underage
Michigan law is designed to deter minors from drinking and driving, and the legal blood alcohol content limit is lowered for persons under the age of 21. Charges of driving under the influence can result in serious consequences that will affect your ability to hold a driver’s license, obtain employment, get student loans and more. Although your first underage OWI conviction does not necessarily result in incarceration, it is still important to fight this charge with a criminal defense lawyer. Criminal DUI convictions can have lasting effects on your freedom, and our attorneys will fight to protect you from Michigan's zero tolerance for underage drinking laws.
MI Attorney Representing Minors facing OWI Charges
Our attorneys’ unrivaled insight into your case will help protect you from unjust punishment and possible future consequences. Failure to hire an experienced attorney to help you fight a DUI/OWI charge could result in fines, community service or jail time. These severe punishments will drastically affect your future, making it even more critical to have a qualified team fighting for you throughout every stage of your criminal case. At Grabel & Associates, we will work with you to build the best defense strategy to fight your Zero Tolerance violation charges. Contact our lawyers today and learn how our extensive knowledge can work to effectively defend you, and keep a criminal charge off your record.
Being Charged under Michigan's Zero Tolerance Law
Michigan law states that any person under the legal drinking age of 21 may not operate a motor vehicle in any location open to the general public or accessible to motor vehicles, including highways and parking lots, while under the influence of alcohol. If the minor is found with a blood alcohol content of 0.02% to 0.07%, they will be charged with a first offense DUI under Michigan’s Zero Tolerance law, as outlined in the Michigan Vehicle Code. An underage driver with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more could be charged with a standard OWI, which is a more serious offense which carries increased penalties. One exception to Michigan’s Zero Tolerance laws involves alcohol consumed during recognized religious services and ceremonies. Operating While Intoxicated charges also apply to minors ages 19-20 returning from Canada, where the legal drinking age is 19.
Criminal Penalty for Minors Charged With OWI
A first time DUI offender with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02% to 0.07% could be punished with a $250 fine as well as up to 360 hours of mandatory community service. A second offense occurring within 7 years could result in a $500 fine, up to 60 days community service and 93 days in jail. If the minor operating the motor vehicle while under the influence has a BAC of 0.08% or more, they could be charged with a standard OWI, resulting in increased fines, longer community service, up to 93 days in jail for a first offense, and license revocation along with mandatory alcohol treatment.
Underage Drinking Defense Lawyer in Detroit, Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, Lansing, and Throughout Michigan
While first time Zero Tolerance offenders are not sentenced with incarceration, it is still crucial to hire a criminal defense attorney to protect you in pre-file, trial, and post-conviction stages of your case. Previous underage OWI convictions are considered when determining future sentences for other OWI offenses, and if any person has been convicted of an underage DUI and is then convicted of OWI after reaching the age of 21 , they will be convicted with a second offense OWI and subject to increased penalties. Three drunk driving convictions will result in a felony charge, which could put you behind bars and keep you off the road for years. Enlisting the help of a qualified lawyer will help protect you from unnecessary punishments and possible future felony charges. Our attorneys will work with you in your fight for justice, strengthening your case and fight to clear your record. Contact a lawyer immediately to achieve the best results in your unique case.
Our Approach to Underage Drunk Driving Charges
Our Michigan law firm will dedicate ample time to your criminal case, ensuring your unique situation is fully investigated, resulting in an effective defense strategy. We will take the time to explain your legal options to you, and our attorneys will guide you through the best legal steps, letting you take control of your case so that you can achieve your desired outcome. Our lawyers are recognized as premier defense attorneys in the state of Michigan, and our results clearly demonstrate our ability to fight effectively for our clients.
If you or your child have been charged with an under 21 DUI offense, it is important to contact a lawyer as soon as possible. A conviction can have lasting effects on your future that our lawyers will work to prevent. Our experienced team has proven their criminal defense abilities in thousands of cases and we will work to earn you outstanding results in your DUI case. While Zero Tolerance Policy charges may not seem to have dramatic effects now, they can severely harm your future, making it vital to work with the best possible attorney. With the help of Grabel & Associates, you can rest easy, knowing your future is safe in the hands of Michigan’s top defense team.
Contact Scott Grabel Michigan Minor Driving Under the Influence Defense Lawyer
Contact us toll free at 1-800-342-7896 to speak with an experienced case consultant regarding your Zero Tolerance Operating While Intoxicated charges. We are available 24/7 to begin building your defense and protecting you from possible criminal sentences that could have dramatic repercussions. You can also contact us online to set up a free consultation with trial lawyer Scott Grabel, connecting you with a wealth of criminal defense knowledge that will aid you in your fight to clear your name.