Michigan DUI Penalties
Drunk driving is a serious crime in Michigan, and a variety of criminal penalties can apply to DUI, OWI, OUIL, and other intoxicated driving charges. If convicted, you will face license suspension or revocation, jail time, fines, and more, and only by working with an experienced attorney can you ensure the best possible case outcome. Grabel & Associates is a premier drunk driving and DUI defense firm, and our lawyers know how to win in difficult OWI cases throughout Michigan. If you have been charged with a DUI in Michigan, fight back against criminal penalties with our experienced team of attorneys.
DUI Lawyers in Detroit, Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, Lansing, and Throughout Michigan
Even if this is your first DUI or OWI offense, the punishment you will face is severe. Michigan’s anti-drunk driving laws call for swift and sure action to decide drunk driving cases and impose stiff penalties on anyone convicted of intoxicated operation of a motor vehicle. Our lawyers have been fighting for clients in criminal cases statewide for over a decade, and we will do everything necessary to protect your rights and effectively fight for your freedom.
Driving Over the Blood Alcohol Content Limit in MI
In the state of Michigan, driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over 0.08% is a criminal offense. If you are under the legal drinking age of 21, you cannot drive with any alcohol in your system, according to Michigan’s zero tolerance policy. If you are driving on a commercial driver’s license, you will be charged if you drive with a BAC over 0.04%. Additionally, anyone who drives with a blood alcohol content over twice the legal limit in Michigan (0.17% or higher) will be faced with harsher penalties due to Michigan’s Super Drunk driving laws.
Michigan DUI First Offense Penalties
If you have been charged with drunk driving in Michigan for the first time, you will face a misdemeanor charge. According to the Michigan Vehicle Code, you could be punished with a jail term of up to 93 days for a first offense drunk driving charge. If you are convicted of Operating While Intoxicated (OWI), you will face a restricted license for 90 days.
A conviction for Operating Under the Influence of Liquor (OUIL) will result in a license suspension for 30 days, along with up to 150 days of driver’s license restrictions. Additional penalties could include community service, mandatory treatment, and driver responsibility fees, along with the costs necessary to reinstate your license if it has been suspended. If you are charged with a Zero Tolerance offense (BAC over 0.02%), you will face up to 360 hours of community service.
Second Offense DUI Penalties in Michigan
A second DUI arrest will result in a misdemeanor conviction, but with the possibility for additional penalties. If your second offense is within 7 years of your first, you will face a mandatory 1 year driver’s license revocation period. You will then have to reapply for a license and pay to have it reinstated if approved. You will also face mandatory community service of at least 30 days, mandatory safe driving education attendance, and driver responsibility fees. If convicted of two DUI offenses within 7 years you will face up to a year in jail.
Additionally, you may be required to install a breathalyzer-type ignition interlock device on your vehicle, and will be responsible for all associated costs. Additional penalties could also apply based on the specific details of your case. If you are under the age of 21 and are convicted under Michigan Zero Tolerance laws, you could face up to 93 days in jail and 60 days of community service, along with harsh fines.
Third Offense DUI Felony Charge in Michigan
If you are convicted of a third DUI offense, you will face felony charges and extremely serious punishment. You could spend up to 5 years in prison, and will be forced to pay fines of as much as $5,000. Additionally, you could be sentenced to as many as 180 days of community service.
A felony DUI conviction will also result in a 5 year mandatory license revocation, after which you can apply for a DAAD hearing. You will also have to pay driver responsibility fees, and could face even more punishment depending on the details of your case.
Our Approach to Drunk Driving Charges in Michigan
When you are charged with a DUI or OWI, it is crucial that you contact a lawyer as soon as possible. Our attorneys understand what it takes to achieve great results and will present every legal option to you in a clear and effective way. Our criminal defense strategies have been proven in numerous past DUI cases throughout the state’s 83 counties, and we have established a reputation as one of Michigan’s best drunk driving defense firms.
We will thoroughly investigate every detail of your case and make sure you are aware how specific legal issues and details of your case will affect your legal options. Don’t hesitate to contact an attorney, as quick action will help you best fight back against police and prosecutors. Without a lawyer, you could face unnecessary criminal penalties that our team may be able to help you avoid.
Contact Scott Grabel For a Free Consultation
Call Grabel & Associates at 1-800-342-7896 now for a free consultation, or contact us online. We are available 24/7 and will immediately begin looking into the details of your case. Fight back against license suspension, jail, and fines with an experienced defense firm, and receive the best possible result in your criminal case.