If you are under the legal drinking age of 21, you can not drink, possess, or transport alcohol. Any minor who drives with alcohol in the vehicle or possesses a bottle, even a sealed or capped alcoholic beverage, could face criminal penalties for Minor in Possession. Michigan has a Zero Tolerance policy concerning possession and transportation of alcohol by persons under the legal drinking age, and the punishments that apply in MIP and transportation of alcohol cases are serious. Contact a DUI attorney now if you have been accused of transporting alcohol or if your underage child has been charged with alcohol possession in.
Minor in Possession (MIP) Lawyer in Michigan
Grabel & Associates works with clients in all drunk driving, alcohol possession, and juvenile crime cases. Our aggressive criminal defense approach is effective in MIP cases, and can help you avoid unnecessary punishment after an alcohol transportation charge. With the team at Grabel & Associates on your side throughout every stage of your alcohol possession case, you will be in total control of your case outcome and proficiently guided through the criminal defense process to a result that works for you. Contact our law firm now for MIP defense and avoid jail or fines in your criminal case.
Michigan Liquor Transportation and Possession Crimes
According to the Michigan Liquor Control Code, any person under the age of 21 may not purchase, attempt to purchase, consume, possess, or attempt to possess any amount of alcoholic liquor. If you are under the legal drinking age, you cannot have any alcohol in your system, measured through a blood or breath blood alcohol content (BAC) test. Transporting and possessing alcohol includes sealed, capped, boxed, or otherwise packaged liquor or beer.
Exceptions Under the Zero Tolerance Liquor Possession Law
There are few exceptions to this Zero Tolerance liquor possession law, however if your job requires you to transport alcohol and you are between the ages of 18 and 21, you could be exempt from this requirement. If you voluntarily seek medical treatment at any health facility, you will not be charged with alcohol possession. Anyone who consumes alcoholic wine as part of a religious ceremony will not be convicted of minor in possession charges. If you have been accused of underage transportation of liquor, the attorneys at our criminal defense firm can help you understand how the specifics of the Michigan Liquor Control Code will affect your case.
Facing Criminal Record and Penalties for Underage Alcohol Possession in Michigan
If you are convicted of minor in possession of alcohol charges for carrying, drinking, or driving with liquor, wine, or beer, you can face serious punishment. If it is your first offense, you can be convicted of a misdemeanor and faced with a fine of up to $100, community service, substance abuse treatment and testing, and a criminal record which can severely hurt your opportunity to gain employment, education, loans, and more. If you are facing a second MIP charge, you could face double the fines, and increases in other possible penalties. You will also lose your driving privileges for 90 days and be forced to pay an additional reinstatement fee to regain your driver’s license. If you are under probation, do not pay fines, or cannot complete substance abuse treatment, you could face jail time for a second underage transportation offense. A third conviction can result in fines of up to $500, increased community service, and potential jail time if probation is violated or the accused does not complete court ordered alcohol abuse treatment.
Our Approach to Transporting Alcohol Under 21 Offenses
The talented attorneys at Grabel & Associates have extensive experience fighting for underage clients in MIP cases. We defend clients throughout Detroit, Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Lansing, East Lansing, Ann Arbor, and statewide in even the most complex alcohol related cases. Our aggressive law firm is recognized as one of Michigan’s top defense teams and we consistently earn the best possible result for clients facing tough charges.
Work with a Michigan DUI lawyer who can analyze the specific details of your unique case and build an individualized criminal defense approach targeting your specific needs. Our lawyers have experience in thousands of cases of the past decade and will utilize the most innovative legal approaches alongside proven tactics to achieve a great outcome for you or your child in an underage drinking case. Contact us immediately for effective defense throughout pre-file, trial, and post-conviction stages of any criminal case. Our attorneys are always available for clients who have questions or concerns regarding their legal future, and we will fight to protect your rights and freedom by guiding you through the best steps to take in your criminal fight.
Contact Scott Grabel for Underage Alcohol Crime Defense
Call our law firm at 1-800-342-7896 now for a free case consultation, or contact us online. We are available 24/7 for anyone who has been investigated for alcohol transportation, charged with MIP, or already convicted of a possession charge. You can set up a free consultation with renowned Michigan trial lawyer Scott Grabel by contacting us right now. We will fight for you in any court statewide, and our lawyers’ combined experience of over 100 years will be effective in helping you obtain a great case outcome.