Teacher Sex Abuse of Student
In the state of Michigan and across the country, numerous stories of sexual relationships between teachers and students are revealed. These instances of improper sexual conduct can occur between male teachers and female students, female teachers and male students, or students and teachers of the same sex. In the state of Michigan, it is a criminal offense for a person in authority, such as a public school teacher, to have sexual contact with a student.
Michigan Sex Abuse of a Minor Student Criminal Defense Lawyer
Legally, teachers are not allowed to become sexually involved with any student under the age of 18, and although Michigan Child Protective Services (CPS) investigates most cases of sexual abuse of a minor, cases involving teachers are referred directly to the police. Allegations of teacher sex abuse of a student will quickly lead to criminal charges and it is imperative that the defendant obtain the best possible Michigan sex crimes lawyer.
Michigan School Teacher Sex with Student
If a school teacher engages in sexual activity with a minor student, he or she can be charged with criminal sexual conduct (CSC). If the student is under the age of 16 and the actor is either a teacher, substitute teacher, administrator, employee, or contractual service provider of the public school, non public school, or school district in which that student is enrolled, engaging in sexual penetration will result in a 1st degree CSC charge, while other sexual activity will result in a 2nd degree CSC charge. If the student is between the ages of 16 and 18 and the accused is a teacher, substitute teacher, administrator, employee, or contractual service provider of the school or district in which that student is enrolled, sexual penetration will result in 3rd degree CSC charges and other sexual contact will result in a 4th degree CSC charge, unless the two persons are lawfully married at the time of the offense.
If the student is receiving special education services and is between the ages of 16 and 26, a teacher, substitute, volunteer, administrator, or employee of the school or district from which that person receives special education services may not engage in a sexual relationship with that student unless they are lawfully married. Unlawful sexual penetration will result in 3rd degree CSC charges and sexual contact will result in a 4th degree criminal sexual conduct charge.
Teacher Sexual Abuse of Student Attorney in Detroit, Lansing, Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, and Throughout Michigan
Contact a Michigan attorney now if you are a teacher or employee of a school and are under investigation for criminal sexual conduct, or if you have already been charged with sex abuse of a student. We will aggressively fight to protect your rights and save you from unjust punishment.
Criminal Penalty for Teacher Sexual Contact with Student in Michigan
According to Section 750.520 of the Michigan Penal Code, the penalties for teacher sex abuse of a student are as follows:
- Engaging in sexual penetration with a student between the ages of 13 and 16 could result in life imprisonment.
- Engaging in other sexual contact with a student between the ages of 13 and 16 could result in imprisonment for up to 15 years.
- Engaging in sexual penetration with a student between the ages of 16 and 18, or a special education student between the ages of 16 and 26 could result in a prison term of up to 15 years.
- Engaging in other sexual contact with a student between the ages of 16 and 18, or a special education student between the ages of 16 and 26 could result in a prison term of up to 2 years, and a fine of up to $500.
If you have been accused of criminal sexual conduct in the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or 4th degree, contact a skilled Michigan attorney immediately.
Our Approach to Teacher/Student Criminal Sexual Conduct Charges in Michigan
Teacher sex abuse of a student is an extremely serious charge, and it is crucial to the criminal justice system to have skilled attorneys working to expose the truth from every angle of a criminal sexual conduct case. We objectively defend clients accused of criminal sexual conduct and will ensure that your rights are protected through every stage of your case.
If you are tried for sex abuse of a student, even an innocent verdict could leave you with a greatly damaged reputation. Our talented Michigan criminal defense attorneys know how to protect your reputation and fight to clear your name. Additionally, school teachers can be unfairly judged before cases even go to trial, and any teacher under suspicion of sexual abuse charges will most likely be indefinitely suspended while accusations are investigated. Grabel & Associates will conduct our own thorough investigation, and uncover any hidden motives or overlooked evidence that could help you have your charges dismissed or reduced. Every sex crimes case deserves an individualized defense strategy, and our experienced lawyers will continuously consult with you throughout the criminal justice process.
Contact Scott Grabel for Sex Crimes Defense in Michigan
Call 1-800-342-7896 if you have been accused of a sex crime in Michigan. Our lawyers have extensive experience representing individuals who have been unfairly or maliciously accused of serious sex crimes, including those involving underage victims. Gathering evidence to defend against sex crime charges is a notoriously difficult and emotionally charged task, and you will need a Michigan criminal defense attorney to help you through your difficult case and fight to secure the best possible outcome.
Contact our firm online and ask to set up a free consultation with trial attorney Scott Grabel. Our seasoned Michigan attorneys are not intimidated by difficult Michigan sex crime cases, and our proven tactics will be effective in your teacher sex abuse of a student case.