Sex Crimes Against Minors
In the state of Michigan, committing a sexual act with a person under the age of 16 can have serious consequences. Even if you are in a consensual relationship with the person at the time of the offense, you could face Criminal Sexual Conduct (CSC), statutory rape, or other sex with minor charges in Michigan. Our sex crime defense attorneys objectively defend clients in cases involving minors and will aggressively defend anyone who has been wrongfully accused of CSC or statutory rape in Michigan.
Contact our experienced team now if you have been accused of a sex crime in any of Michigan’s 83 counties. We have extensive experience in cases involving minors and have helped clients achieve great case outcomes in CSC, rape, and sexual assault cases. We understand the stress that wrongful accusations can place on a person and will work to answer every question you have about the legal process while guiding you through the best steps to take throughout investigation and potential trial.
Statutory Rape and Age of Consent in Michigan
According to Michigan law, the age of consent is 16 years. If you commit any sexual act including sexual penetration with a person under the age of 16, you could face criminal charges. Contact a lawyer now if you have been accused of sexual contact with a minor or if you believe you may be charged with a sex crime in the future.
Statutory Rape and Age of Consent Lawyer in Michigan. Sex Crime Defense Attorney for Sex With a Minor in Detroit, Lansing, Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, and Throughout Michigan
Statutory rape charges occur when the accused has any sexual contact (including, but not limited to, penetration) with a person under the age of 16, regardless of any consent given by the underage minor. Michigan law holds persons under 16 as incapable of making the decision to have consensual sex or sexual contact, and thereby prosecutes anyone who has had sexual contact with a minor in the state. Our lawyers will help you fight statutory rape charges, and we know what it takes to achieve a great case outcome.
Statute of Limitations in Michigan Sex With a Minor Cases
A statute of limitations determines the period after an alleged offense in which charges can be filed. For sex crimes involving a minor, including sexual contact with a person under the age of 16, sexual abuse of a minor, or sexual assault, charges can be filed either within 10 years of the incident, or up until the minor’s 21st birthday, whichever is later. If convincing DNA evidence is involved in the sex crime case, specific cases may be exempt from the statute of limitations, or the statute of limitations will be extended to 10 years from the time the evidence was uncovered. For Michigan rape cases involving a minor, there is no statute of limitations.
Criminal Penalties in Michigan - Sex With a Minor
Sex involving a minor in Michigan will result in charges of criminal sexual conduct (CSC) in the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or 4th degree. For cases involving penetration, sex with a minor under the age of 13 will result in life imprisonment, while sex with a minor between 13 and 16 will result in up to 15 years in prison, according to the Michigan Penal Code. Additionally, sex offenders will be registered on the Michigan Public Sex Offender Registry (PSOR) for a period of 25 years to life depending on the degree of the CSC offense.
In some statutory rape cases, the defendant may be exempt from PSOR registration requirements. According to a 2011 “Romeo and Juliet” law, anyone convicted of statutory rape with an alleged victim between 13 and 16 who consented to the sexual act (even though they have not reached the age of consent), may be exempt from sex offender registration if they were no more than 4 years older than the alleged victim at the time of the offense.
Contact Grabel & Associates now to fight back against criminal penalties and defend your freedom.
Our Approach to Sex Crime Charges
Our attorneys aggressively defend clients accused of sex crimes in Michigan, and we will immediately begin fighting for the rights of those who have been wrongly accused of sex with a minor charges in any Michigan county. Our experienced attorneys will look over every detail in your case and make sure you are aware of every legal issue affecting your case outcome. Our dynamic defense strategies have been effective in thousands of past criminal cases, including CSC, rape, and sexual assault cases, and we have the skills needed to obtain a great result in your case.
Work with an attorney as soon as possible to avoid wrongful conviction in criminal sexual conduct, child abuse, assault with intent to commit sexual penetration, rape, statutory rape, child abusive activity, or other sex with a minor cases. We are always available to begin protecting your rights no matter what stage your case is in.
Contact Grabel & Associates Michigan Criminal Defense Firm
Call Grabel & Associates right now no matter where you are in Michigan at 1-800-342-7896 and speak with an experienced case analyst about your sex with a minor charges. You can also contact us online and set up a free case consultation with trial lawyer Scott Grabel. We are available 24/7 to begin working together to achieve a great case result, so don’t hesitate to obtain the best sex crime defense representation.