Michigan Drunk Driving Laws

Drunk driving in Michigan is a very serious criminal offense an experienced Michigan OWI defense lawyer should handle. Our aggressive defense strategies are effective in DUI cases, and for over a decade we have been helping clients beat criminal penalties and win OWI related cases. Our statewide attorneys know what it takes to win in DUI, OWI, OUIL, OWVI, DWI, felony drunk driving, child endangerment, open container, under 21 DUI, CDL OWI, and any other related cases, and our talented team will do everything necessary to properly protect your rights throughout the criminal justice process.

Michigan Attorney Defending Clients Facing Drunk Driving Charges

As soon as you are pulled over for drunk driving, it is crucial that you contact an attorney. Your actions early on in your case will directly affect your results, and our attorneys can guide you through the best legal steps to take throughout every stage of your case. Fight back against Michigan drunk driving charges with a skilled criminal defense lawyer; contact Grabel & Associates now.

Blood Alcohol Content Limit for Driving in Michigan

In the state of Michigan, operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over 0.08% is illegal, and violation of this law will result in criminal charges. If you drive with a BAC over 0.17, you could be charged under the state’s “super drunk” law and sentenced to additional penalties. If your ability to operate a motor vehicle safely was substantially affected by alcohol or drug intoxication, you can be charged with OWI as long as police establish probable cause to arrest you. Other charges, such as Operating While Visibly Impaired, can also result in criminal punishment.

Police must always have probable cause to stop you if they believe you were driving under the influence of alcohol. Failure to obey traffic signals or swerving out of your lane could result in your arrest, at which point you should contact a lawyer. Probable cause for your arrest will be determined through a chemical test, such as a breathalyzer test. Failure to submit to a blood or breath test can result in criminal punishment, which is why it is important to contact a lawyer as soon as you can to receive guidance throughout the early stages of your case.

Criminal Laws for Drunk Driving in Michigan

In order to be charged with a DUI, persons over the age of 21 have to be operating a motor vehicle with a BAC over 0.08%, unless they are driving on a commercial driver’s license, in which case the legal limit lowers to 0.04%. If you are under the age of 21, you could be charged with drunk driving if you are caught driving with any alcohol in your system.

For a first offense DUI, you will face up to 93 days in jail, license suspension, driver’s license points, and fines, along with community service and other potential penalties. A second drunk driving offense will result in up to a year in prison, along with license suspension, DL points, vehicle immobilization, fines, and community service as well as the installation of an ignition interlock device. A felony DUI charge occurs after a third conviction, which will result in up to 5 years in jail, substantial fines, license revocation for 5 years, community service, vehicle immobilization, IID installation, and other penalties. These criminal penalties can also apply in OWVI, OUIL, DWI, OWI, and other intoxicated driving cases.

Refusing a chemical test can result in driver’s license suspension, while child endangerment charges, which occur when you drive intoxicated with a child in the vehicle, can result in up to a year in jail along with driver’s license suspension, fines, vehicle mobilization, and more. Driving with an open container of alcohol in your vehicle can result in up to 93 days in jail along with a $500 fine. Penalties for other offenses are outlined in the Michigan Vehicle Code. No matter what drunk driving charge you face, it is crucial that you contact a lawyer as soon as possible.

Our Approach to Michigan Drunk Driving Laws

At Grabel & Associates, our lawyers fight for clients who have been wrongly accused of drunk driving, have had their rights violated, or are facing excessive punishment for a criminal offense. Our lawyers understand the negative stigma that a drunk driving conviction can cause, and we know how Michigan DUI and other OWI laws will affect your unique situation.

Work with our skilled attorneys to develop an individualized approach that aims to help you achieve your legal goals. Every case is different, and our combined experience from DUI, OWI, Open Container, Child Endangerment, and driver’s license restoration cases allows us to deliver a comprehensive criminal defense approach no matter what charge you face. We are always available at our toll free number, and will immediately begin working on your case.

Contact Scott Grabel for Michigan Drunk Driving Defense

Call 1-800-342-7896 now for a free case analysis, or contact us online. Ask to set up a free consultation with DUI trial lawyer Scott Grabel. We will aggressively defend you in any of Michigan’s 83 counties no matter what criminal drunk driving charge you face.

Michigan DUI Attorney Practice Areas

Contact Us