Sobriety Court Evaluation in Michigan
In 2011, the state of Michigan enacted legislation, which allowed certain eligible repeat DUI offenders to avoid license revocation by entering into a special program called sobriety court. If eligible for sobriety court, you may be able to avoid the mandatory license suspension handed out to all repeat drunk drivers, and instead have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. If you don’t take advantage of this option, you will not be able to drive at all for at least a year. Contact a DL lawyer to now and find out if you may be eligible for Michigan sobriety court, and whether or not it is a good idea to pursue a sobriety court judgment.
Keep Your License After Second OWI Offense
Grabel & Associates deals with tough driver’s license restoration and drunk driving cases on a daily basis, and for over 10 years our team has been working to help clients achieve great case results in courts statewide. We know how to fight back against DUI accusations and life-changing penalties such as driver’s license suspension or revocation. A DWI court may be a way to avoid harsh penalties, but it is critical to speak with a lawyer before making the decision to enter into the sobriety court program.
Our team is available 24/7 to answer any questions you may have about a drunk driving conviction and Michigan sobriety court. Contact us immediately for a free case consultation.
Restricted Driver’s License from Michigan Sobriety Court
The individual court program to which you apply will determine your eligibility for sobriety court. Certain requirements apply in all courts, including:
- Offense must have occurred after January 1, 2011
- You must have a prior conviction on record
- You must be approved by the court
Not all courts have a sobriety court program, and an attorney can help you determine whether or not there is a DWI court in your area. If you are approved for a restricted license, the court will notify the Secretary of State and your restricted license will be mailed to you.
If you win a sobriety court restricted license, you can start driving on the date listed on the license, which will be a minimum of 45 days after your suspension or revocation. You must get an ignition interlock device installed, and there are no special provisions made for driving to the installation, so you may have to arrange another driver in order to get the device installed. Every vehicle you operate and own must have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed by an approved IID provider.
Michigan DWI Court Attorney
Once you have a restricted driver’s license, you need to be careful not to commit another offense; otherwise your driving privileges will be suspended again. If you are removed from the program, you can’t regain a restricted license for the same offense, and will have to face a suspension or revocation. You must successfully complete the program in order to avoid suspension, and will be subject to driver responsibility fees, which might otherwise be avoided while you are in the program. Though points related fees and non-alcohol related fees will still be collected, responsibility fees for drunk driving offenses will not be collected for the duration of the program.
There are many conditions that apply during the restricted period, and your restricted license will last until the Secretary of State approves you for full driving privileges again. You can drive to and from work, but are not permitted to drive as part of a job. You are permitted to drive to and from any of the following: home, workplace, school, and alcohol or drug education program. In order to have full driving privileges reinstated, you must apply for a hearing with the Michigan Department of State’s Administrative Hearings Section. You will have to wait until the minimum periods for any suspension or revocation on your record has passed, which can be determined by requesting your driving record.
Contact Grabel & Associates to Learn More About MI Sobriety Court
Our lawyers have experience representing clients in sobriety court, Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight hearings, and throughout the driver’s license restoration process. We know what it takes to get you back on the road after a drunk driving conviction, and are available now for clients statewide seeking an experienced attorney to take their case in any stage. Our proven results demonstrate how effective our team can be in tough DUI-related cases, and we are ready to begin fighting for similar results in your case. Call 1-800-342-7896 or contact us online now for a free initial case consultation and find out if sobriety court may be right for you.