DUI Related Driver’s License Suspensions in Michigan
When you are convicted of drunk driving in Michigan, additional sanctions can result in addition to criminal penalties. One such sanction is potential driver’s license suspension, which is possible in both first offense and repeat offender cases. If you are convicted of a first offense Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) charge, you could face a license suspension for up to 6 months time. Repeat offenders face a minimum 1-year suspension.
MI OWI License Suspension
In addition to OWI/DUI suspensions, other drunk driving related driver’s license suspensions could result. If you refuse a lawful request to take a chemical test, such as a breathalyzer test, you could face up to a 1 year license suspension for a first offense, a 2 year license suspension for a second offense, and a five year license suspension for a third offense.
No matter what stage of the process your drunk driving case is in, it is critical to work with the best possible driver’s license defense lawyer you can. If you have not yet been convicted, fight back against possible license suspension with a criminal defense team. If you have already had your license taken away, work to ensure you are back on the road as soon as possible by working with a driver’s license restoration attorney. It is critical to hire the best attorney available if you want to achieve the most beneficial result, and the skilled attorneys at Grabel & Associates have been committed to protecting clients from lengthy DL suspensions for over a decade. Contact us now for a free consultation and find out more about restoring your license after a DUI related suspension.
Fight Driver’s License Suspension in Michigan
If you drive with a blood alcohol content over 0.08, or if it is determined that you were driving while impaired by alcohol, you could face license suspension. In addition, anyone who possesses a commercial driver’s license (CDL) can receive a suspension for driving with a BAC over 0.08%. In accordance with Michigan’s zero tolerance law, anyone under the age of 21 who is caught driving with any level of alcohol in their system is subject to license suspension.
In addition, other offenses such as vehicular manslaughter and related felonies, failure to appear in court for a traffic violation, drug intoxication or other drug related crimes, and juvenile crime offenses like attempting to buy alcohol can lead to license suspension.
Driver’s License Restoration in Detroit, Lansing, Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, & Statewide
If your license has been suspended, you will need to restore your driving privileges. Driving can be essential, and you may not realize how detrimental the loss of your driving privileges is until it occurs. If you can’t get to work, you could lose your job, and the inability to attend court-ordered service or meetings can lead to additional criminal penalties. Your life will be drastically affected by a license suspension, which is why our team fights to help clients get back on the road as soon as possible. Contact us now for a free initial case consultation and begin working to restore your Michigan driver’s license.
Restore a License Suspended After a DUI Conviction
If your license has been suspended for failing to take a chemical test, you have 14 days to request a hearing or you could face a prolonged suspension. Though some first offenders may be able to get their license back by following all court orders and paying a reinstatement fee, more serious offenses and repeat offenses will result in a suspension or revocation requiring a Michigan driver’s license restoration hearing. In these cases, you must wait for a period of time, usually a minimum of one year, before requesting the opportunity to win back your license. If you are granted a hearing, you must prove that your alleged alcohol abuse is under control and will remain under control, and that you are not a risk to commit another offense. Working with an attorney during this stage may be critical, as license restoration hearings are difficult to win, especially without an experienced attorney, and losing a hearing will result in having to wait another year without a license before reapplying for a new hearing.
Our Proven Approach to DUI Suspension Defense
Our firm not only has experience successfully defending clients in drunk driving cases, but we know how to win back a license if you have already been convicted and had your DL suspended. If you were not able to avoid license suspension at your initial trial, work with a lawyer who knows how to get it back as soon as possible during the post-conviction stage of your case. Our proven results demonstrate how effective our lawyers have been in past Michigan cases, and we are able to win 97% of first time hearings for offenders statewide.
Contact Grabel & Associates for Driver’s License Restoration
To speak with a driver’s license restoration lawyer in Michigan, call 1-800-342-7896 now or contact our team online. We are available 24/7 to begin fighting for your driving privileges and will provide you with a free initial case consultation right away.