Driving Without Insurance in Michigan
As soon as a person is pulled over for a traffic violation or other driving related offense, the officer who has pulled them over may ask for proof of insurance. If a person does not have insurance and is involved in an accident or commits a traffic violation, serious criminal penalties can result. Driving without insurance in Michigan is a very serious crime, and the punishments you could face range from fines to the loss of your driving privileges, as well as long term effects on your insurance rate and other potential monetary considerations, especially if you are involved in an accident causing damage to another person’s property.
Caught Driving Uninsured in MI
If you have been accused of driving without valid insurance, or if you have been involved in an accident and do not have an insurance policy that covers you in Michigan, contact a driver’s license attorney as soon as you can. Grabel & Associates is available 24/7 to begin fighting for you in your criminal case, and can guide you through what you need to do to fight both criminal and administrative penalties. Our lawyers know what it takes to achieve excellent case results in even the most difficult situations, and will not rest until you have been thoroughly protected from wrongful conviction or unjust penalties.
Is it Illegal to Drive Without Insurance in Michigan?
In the state of Michigan, it is illegal to drive without:
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP), which pays for necessary medical coverage, wage loss, and survivor benefits.
- Property Injury Protection (PPI), which covers up to $1 million in damages to property hit by your vehicle.
- Residual bodily injury and property damage liability insurance, which covers your expenses if sued, as well as damages if found liable in an auto accident.
Though it is required by law to carry this basic coverage, you are not required to carry additional insurance like uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage.
There are many legal dangers associated with driving uninsured. If you drive without insurance:
- You cannot sue for pain and suffering, in accordance with Michigan’s No Fault Law, which states that damages for noneconomic loss shall not be assessed in favor of a party who was operating his or her own vehicle and did not have the motor vehicle security required by Section 3101 of the Vehicle Code.
- You are responsible to pay all of your own medical expenses.
- You cannot be reimbursed for lost wages.
- You are responsible to pay for any and all damage to your vehicle.
- You can be sued for another person’s pain and suffering.
- You can be held liable for damage to another person’s vehicle.
- You could face serious criminal and administrative penalties.
Criminal Penalties for Driving Uninsured in Michigan
If you are caught driving without sufficient insurance, you could face up to a year in jail, and a potential fine of between $200 and $500, in accordance with a misdemeanor conviction as outlined in Section 500.3102 of the Insurance Code.
In addition, you could have your license suspended or revoked, your license plate may not be renewed or could be cancelled, and you could face an additional administrative fine.
Your insurance rate will also likely be affected. You could be facing a high risk driver rate for 6 months after the offense, and you may be denied coverage by some insurance carriers.
Our Approach to Michigan Uninsured Driver Cases
If you are facing a criminal charge for a driving related offense, and have been accused of carrying insufficient insurance, it is critical to contact an attorney so that you can be fully aware of what the required levels of insurance are and how to fight back against serious penalties if accused of driving uninsured. For over 10 years, the attorneys at Grabel & Associates have been fighting for clients in all kinds of cases, ranging from accidents causing property damage or injury, to DUI, and all other wrongful accusations.
Contact Grabel & Associates to Fight Back Against Uninsured Driver Charges
If you are at risk of a wrongful conviction for uninsured driving, or if you are facing administrative penalties such as license suspension or fines after being accused of driving without insurance in Michigan, call 1-800-342-7896 now for a free initial case consultation, or contact our firm online. We are available 24/7 to begin working with you in your uniquely important case, and know what it takes to achieve the best possible case result after a wrongful accusation.