Under 21 DUI Charges Attorney in Muskegon County
Although a person can drive during their teen years, there are special restrictions that exist for drivers considered to be underage. If you are under the legal drinking age of 21, you are barred from consuming any alcohol before getting behind the wheel, and even if your blood alcohol content (BAC) level is below the standard legal limit of 0.08%, any trace of alcohol in your system could lead to serious criminal penalties under Michigan’s Zero Tolerance law. If you or your child has been accused of driving while under the influence of alcohol, contact an experienced Muskegon DUI attorney immediately. Grabel & Associates is available now for Zero Tolerance DUI clients in Muskegon and statewide, and we are prepared to do whatever it takes to protect your rights and fight to secure your freedom.
Underage DUI Defense Attorneys
Under the direction of experienced trial attorney Scott Grabel, our team has worked to establish a reputation as one of the top firms in Michigan for DUI defense, and over the past decade we have successfully represented countless clients in Zero Tolerance DUI, misdemeanor OWI, and felony drunk driving cases. Our attorneys know what it takes to win, and are ready to immediately begin working together with you to craft an aggressive and effective defense strategy for your unique case. Contact our team now to find out more about fighting an underage drunk driving charge in Michigan and begin your fight for justice.
Michigan Zero Tolerance Under 21 Drunk-Driving Charges
According to Section 257.625 of the Michigan Penal Code, it is illegal for any person under the age of 21 to drive after consuming alcohol in any amount. As long as there is alcohol in your system that can be detected by a blood or breath test, you are subject to criminal prosecution and the corresponding penalties. Usually, alcohol can be detected in quantities above 0.02% BAC.
If you are pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving, there is still a lot you can do to protect yourself from criminal charges and possible conviction, and it is critical to be aware of what you should say and do before you take any action in your case. Never speak to police before consulting an experienced attorney, as everything you say can be twisted and used against you, or used to establish probable cause for arrest. Wrongful conviction in DUI cases is very possible, especially when such small amounts of alcohol are involved, and our firm is committed to protecting the rights of the wrongly accused and guarding clients against excessively harsh penalties.
Contact our firm now for a free initial case consultation and speak with a Muskegon DUI defense lawyer about your case. We are always available for clients statewide no matter what the specifics of your legal situation.
Penalties for Under 21 DUI in Muskegon, Michigan
If you are caught driving with a BAC over 0.02%, you could be convicted of a Zero Tolerance DUI, unless you meet one or more of the following exemptions:
- alcohol consumption was required by a religious ceremony
- alcohol consumption was required by police work
- alcohol consumption was required by government work
- alcohol consumption was required by culinary school or other educational institution
If you do not meet any of these exemptions and cannot beat the charges you will face, you could be sentenced to a fine of as much as $250 and 15 days of community service for a first offense, or up to $500 and 60 days for a second offense. If your BAC is above the legal limit of 0.08%, you could face regular DUI charges, jail time, license suspension, and other serious penalties.
Our Approach to Muskegon Zero Tolerance Drunk Driving
At Grabel & Associates, we work with each client to uncover the unique details of a case that can help secure exceptional results. We know the police mistakes and prosecutor errors that can help you beat underage OWI charges, and we are ready now to begin aggressively working to discover how to best protect you from criminal penalties. Our firm is always available to start answering your legal questions and provide a free initial case analysis as soon as you contact us.
Contact Our Law Firm 24/7 for Drunk Driving Defense in MI
To speak with a lawyer, call 1-800-342-7896 toll free or contact Scott Grabel online through the contact page. Don’t hesitate to get in touch with a lawyer, as DUI cases can be time sensitive. Never speak to police before you talk to one of our top rated attorneys. We are always available to start helping you in your fight for a just case outcome.