Steps to Get a Suspended Driver’s License Back in Lansing
On a cold Saturday in Lansing, police attempted to pull over a vehicle that was driving suspiciously. The driver fled from police. After a short chase, the driver veered onto a curb, went into a nearby yard, and then tried to exit the vehicle, as it was still moving. The driver was then chased down and arrested while still attempting to run. The 33-year-old woman who was driving the vehicle had a blood-alcohol content (BAC) that was more than three times higher than the 0.08% legal limit in Michigan.
A situation such as this was certainly more than enough for police to suspend the woman’s license. However, much less could land you in a similar situation. Multiple speeding fines, an OWI, driving without insurance, and many other violations can lead to a suspended license. Every one of these infractions adds “points” onto your Michigan driving record. These points build up, but only last up to two years after the violation. When you reach 4 points, you will be mailed a letter of warning. At 8 points, you will receive a final warning letter. Once you reach 12 points of infraction on you driving record you will be legally required to take a driving re-examination. Based upon the results of this examination, the state could possibly suspend your license.
A suspended license means you are not legally allowed to drive under any circumstances. There is always a suspension period attached to this penalty. You can only apply to reinstate your license after this suspension period.
Suspension periods vary depending on the situation. A one-year suspension will occur if you have an OWI with a BAC in excess of 0.17%. If you make the mistake of driving while drunk again within seven years of the previous OWI, your license can be denied/revoked for at least one year. Any more violations worse than this and the state will consider denying/revoking your license indefinitely.
Getting a suspended license back in Lansing can be as simple as waiting for the suspension period to end and then starting the reinstatement process. However, the costs associated with the reinstatement fee and the method of appealing varies depending on why your license was suspended.
License Restoration without Substance Abuse in Lansing
If your license was suspended for driving violations in Lansing with no substance abuse involved, you will experience the most favorable conditions for getting your license back. The standard fee for to begin this process is $125. After the suspension period, you will have to go to the Lansing Secretary of State branch and see if your license is up for reinstatement. They will require several documents and proofs from you. These include: a valid photo I.D., social security number, proof of Michigan residency, and an Application for Driver’s License Reinstatement. It is here that you will pay that $125 fee.
If you are denied, your license may remain suspended or even be revoked. If this happens, contact Grabel & Associates immediately. Our driver’s license attorneys can fight for your case and make sure that you follow the appropriate procedures to get your license back and get you on the road.
License Restoration with Substance Abuse in Lansing
If your license was suspended and you were also convicted of substance abuse or an OWI in Lansing, it is somewhat more difficult to get your license fully restored. In most cases, your license will automatically be denied/revoked for one year.
Sobriety Court and High BAC Cases
After 45 days, however, you are able to apply for a restricted license in the state of Michigan, which will allow you to drive during certain times of the day. To get the license, a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) will be installed on any vehicle you intend to drive. You must then submit proof that the device has been installed on your vehicle to the Michigan Secretary of State office branch in your area. The Lansing branch is located at 3315 E Michigan Ave., Lansing, MI 48912.
Once the BAIID has been installed, you will be able to drive with a restricted license. This means that you will only be able to operate the vehicle when driving to and from certain places, such as driving to your job, any court-ordered alcohol or drug education and treatment programs, or educational institution where you are currently enrolled as a student. Additionally, you will also be able to drive to court-ordered community service programs as well as the court probation department.
The restricted license will also allow you to drive to a hospital if you or an immediate family member is in need of serious medical treatment. Keep in mind that wherever you drive, you must have proof of your destination. This could include a copy of your employment or class schedule.
After your suspension is over, you can get an Order/Authorization to Remove Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device from the Administrative Hearings Section of the Michigan Department of State. You must also pay the reinstatement fee of $125, and once you do, you will be back on the road.
Grabel & Associates has been serving the residents of Lansing and the greater Michigan area for decades. We have over 100 years of legal expertise between our associates that is at your disposal. Our discipline is to go over every aspect of your case and make sure you are represented fairly. We are ready to represent you 24/7. Call us at 1-800-342-7896 or contact us online here.