Driving Without Insurance Lawyer in Lansing
In Lansing, you cannot legally operate a motor vehicle without some type of insurance. Insurance protects you and other involved drivers should you cause or be involved in an accident. Insurance may also help you pay for any damages to your car or the other person's car, and will also help pay for any injuries you or the other driver receives as a result of an auto accident.
Though insurance is required no matter where you are, every state has different laws regarding the types of insurance needed. You have the option of choosing from a number of insurance providers.
In Lansing, as in the rest of Michigan, all drivers must have no-fault automobile insurance in order to legally drive. Driving without insurance is illegal.
Types of Essential Insurance
No-fault insurance has three parts that all drivers must have in order to be able to drive legally in the state.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP): This part pays all medical expenses deemed reasonable and necessary caused by an auto accident. If you hit another car and break a rib, PIP will pay for your medical bills as well as any wage losses or replacement services on your vehicle for up to three years.
- Property Protection (PPI): This part pays for damages your vehicle causes (up to $1 million) to other people's property in Michigan. If you hit a person's fence, this insurance will pay for it to be replaced.
- Residual Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability (BI/PI): If you are found liable for any damages or costs as a result of an auto accident in which someone was seriously injured or killed, this part will pay for all or part of what is owed. As you can take out difference amounts of coverage, the amount your insurance will pay may vary. At the very least, you need to carry:
- $20,000 per person who is either killed or injured
- $40,000 for each accident if more than one person is hurt or killed
- $10,000 for damage your car does to any property in another state
BI/PI can be purchased in larger amounts if needed, but 20/40/10 is what is legally required in Lansing and throughout the state of Michigan.
Note that none of these parts of the no-fault policy mention repairs to your car or protection from other uninsured drivers. If you want to cover your car if it is hit or damaged, you will need collision coverage. Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM) Insurance will protect you from hit-and-run drivers as well as any uninsured or underinsured drivers. Both of these forms of insurance are optional, but they may be worth the coverage.
If you are having trouble finding an insurance provider or have questions, contact the Department of Insurance and Financial Services. They can get you the information you need and help you understand your policy and premium.
Consequences of Driving Without Insurance
Driving without insurance in Lansing is considered a misdemeanor and can also lead to a license suspension. Fines usually range from $200 to $500, and in some cases, drivers can also spend up to one year in jail. Suspensions can last for 30 days or longer, but usually, if you provide proof of insurance, your license will be reinstated at the end of the 30 days.
The legal consequences can pale in comparison to the trouble you will face if you are involved in an accident without insurance. First, you will not be able to sue for any pain and suffering. Secondly, you will have to pay for any medical bills you have as well as any damages or replacements to your vehicle. This could leave you with a mountain of debt and no car, depending on the nature of the accident. Finally, you will not be able to collect for any lost wages. If a broken rib puts you out of work for six months, you will not receive any wages during that time.
Expenses can grow to astronomical rates if you injure another person or damage their property. The injured person will probably file a personal injury claim and sue for medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
In addition to legal and civil penalties, insurance providers will not make it easy for you to obtain insurance. If they see you as a severe liability, insurance providers can refuse to cover you. If the provider does decide to insure you, you will more than likely have to pay a high-risk driver rate for six months or more.
In some cases, you may be facing a false accusation of driving without insurance. If that is the case, it is best to seek legal representation as quickly as possible.
Get Great Representation
Not being able to drive or operate a motor vehicle can make going to school or work very difficult. You will have to rely on public transportation for a lift or ask a friend or family member to drive you. The driver’s license attorneys at Grabel & Associates are here to help. We are well versed in Michigan's insurance laws, and we will gladly help you go over your case.
If you were caught driving without insurance and need legal representation, contact our offices at 1-800-342-7896 or online to schedule a free legal consultation. We will go over the case with you and assess the best way to get you driving legally once more.