Juvenile Criminal Sexual Conduct Attorney in Muskegon
Because the age of sexual consent in Muskegon and statewide is 16, many cases of criminal sexual conduct involve juveniles. A juvenile offender is defined as anyone under the age of 17, and if a person under the age of 17 has sex with a person under the age of consent, he or she can face criminal prosecution. Regardless of any consent given to a relationship between two people, before the age of 16 an adolescent cannot legally consent to any sexual activity of any kind. Depending on the specific details of the case, felony or misdemeanor charges can result.
Anyone who has been accused of criminal sexual conduct in Muskegon should hire a skilled juvenile defense lawyer as soon as possible, because serious criminal penalties are very possible, even in juvenile crime cases. The attorneys at Grabel & Associates know what it takes to achieve exceptional results in even the toughest situations, and for over a decade we have been guiding clients through the criminal justice process. Our proven results demonstrate just how effective our juvenile defense team can be, and we are available 24/7 to begin providing confidential legal representation to any juvenile accused of a sex crime in Muskegon.
Contact Grabel & Associates now and begin fighting for a favorable case outcome. Our lawyers will protect your best interests, and fight to defend your freedom and future throughout every stage of your case.
Criminal Sexual Conduct Charges – 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Degree
In the state of Michigan, there are 4 distinct degree of CSC a person may be charged with. 1st degree CSC involves sexual penetration with either a person under 13, or a person under 16 in situations involving force, coercion, positions of authority, or familial relations. If the same conditions apply, but sexual contact occurs without penetration, 2nd degree CSC charges can result. Both are serious felony offenses.
If a juvenile has sex with a person under the age of 16 and extenuating circumstances are not involved, or if sexual contact without penetration occurs, the defendant can be charged with 3rd or 4th degree CSC, respectively.
According to the Michigan Penal Code, you could face up to life in prison for a 1st degree felony CSC charge, up to 15 years for a 2nd or 3rd degree CSC felony, and up to 2 years in prison for a 4th degree misdemeanor charge. Juvenile offenders may be eligible for a deferred sentence or alternative sentencing program, however it is critical to begin working towards your desired result early on in your case, because adult sentencing is possible and there are many steps that need to be taken in order to help you reached your legal goals.
Juvenile Penalties for CSC in Michigan
As a juvenile offender, you can seek sentencing in juvenile court, where judges are supposed to focus more on rehabilitation than punishment. If you seek placement on the juvenile consent calendar in Michigan, you can even have your CSC sentence deferred, provided you comply with the conditions set out by the judge. This could mean never having to serve time in jail or a juvenile offender institution, and doing community service or completing personal development classes instead.
Always consult an attorney and find out more about how Muskegon law may affect your case, as well as what sentencing options may be available to you. Our attorneys are always available to begin fighting with you and for you as you battle back against serious criminal penalties. Contact us now for a free, confidential consultation.
Our Approach to CSC Defense
With extensive experience fighting to protect the futures of Michigan’s youth, Grabel & Associates knows what it takes to achieve great case results after serious sex crimes accusations. We understand how parents can bring criminal charges after what was thought to be consensual by all involved parties, or how broken relationships can lead to damaging allegations. We also are aware that many juveniles don’t realize sexual activity may be illegal, and will work to discover the unique details of your specific situation before telling you how to fight back against conviction.
Contact Grabel & Associates for CSC Defense in Muskegon, Michigan
To begin working with a Muskegon juvenile sex crimes defense lawyer now, call 1-800-342-7896 or contact us online. Our criminal sexual conduct defense team is available 24/7 to provide a free initial case consultation, and we will begin answering your legal questions while keeping your information confidential. Call now if you or your child is facing a sex crime accusation in Michigan, we are ready to begin protecting anyone accused of CSC in Muskegon or statewide.