DUI Penalties Attorney in Muskegon
DUI is among the most common criminal charges in Muskegon, and our DUI attorneys have extensive experience working in drunk driving cases statewide. Our team knows how serious the penalties you will face if convicted of a DUI in Muskegon can be, but we also know what it takes to beat criminal conviction or achieve a more beneficial sentence. It is critical that you begin working with a lawyer as soon as you can so that you ensure you don’t miss out on the best possible results, and because many DUI cases are time-sensitive, oftentimes a few days or weeks can make a huge difference in your case. Grabel & Associates is dedicated to constant availability, and we are ready to begin working with you whenever you need us. Contact our firm now by phone or online and begin your battle for a just result.
Operating While Intoxicated Defense in Muskegon
The Muskegon DUI defense lawyers at Grabel & Associates have been committed to drunk driving defense for over 10 years. Under the leadership of nationally ranked trial lawyer Scott Grabel, our team fights to protect the rights and freedom of clients in DUI-related cases. Our team has experience defending Michigan’s accused after false allegations of drunk driving charges including:
- DUI/OWI (Driving Under the Influence/Operating While Intoxicated)
- OWVI (Operating While Visibly Impaired)
- OUID (Operating Under the Influence of Drugs)
- OUIL (Operating Under the Influence of Liquor)
- OWI Child Endangerment
- OWI Causing Injury
- OWI Causing Death
- Zero Tolerance DUI
- Refusing to Take BAC Test
BAC Laws in Muskegon, MI
The legal limits for drivers in Michigan are as follows:
Underage Driver (Under 21): 0.00% (Zero Tolerance DUI)
Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Holder: 0.04%
Regular Driver Over 21: 0.08%
Super Drunk DUI Limit: 0.17%
Driving with a BAC over these limits could lead to a Zero Tolerance DUI charge, Operating While Intoxicated Charge, or Super Drunk OWI charge, and very serious penalties. Contact an attorney now to fight back against jail time, fines, license sanctions, and more.
OWI Penalties in Muskegon, Michigan (257.625)
The penalties for an Operating While Intoxicated (DUI/OWI) conviction are as follows:
First Offense OWI – Up to: 93 days in jail, $500 fine, 6 month license suspension, IID installation, DUI education, and a misdemeanor criminal record.
Second Offense OWI – Up to: 1 year in jail (minimum 5 days), fine of $1,000, 1 year license revocation, IID installation required, misdemeanor criminal record.
Third Offense OWI – Up to: 1 year in jail (or 5 years if other extenuating circumstances are present), fine of $1,000, license revocation for 5 years to indefinite period, IID requirement, felony criminal record.
In addition, you can face vehicle immobilization or forfeiture, increased insurance rates, and other serious punishment. If you are convicted of “Super Drunk” driving, you could face even more severe penalties.
Zero Tolerance DUI in Muskegon – Penalties for Under 21 OWI
If you are caught driving with a BAC of 0.00% to 0.08% while under the age of 21, you could face a Zero Tolerance DUI conviction. Though technically the law states that a person cannot have any alcohol in their system, usually a person will only be arrested if caught with a BAC over 0.02%.
The penalties for OWI Zero Tolerance are as follows:
First Offense – Fine of up to $250 and community service up to 360 hours.
Second Offense – Fine of up to $500, 60 days community service, and up to 93 days in jail.
Refusal to Take a Chemical Test in Muskegon
Some people believe they can get away with drunk driving by refusing to take a chemical test, or stalling when requested to take a BAC test. This is not the case, however, as a BAC test is used to establish probable cause, and simply refusing to take one gives police enough reason to arrest you in most cases. In addition, Michigan drivers have implied their consent to submit to a BAC just by signing up for a driver’s license, and it is illegal to refuse.
The penalties you can face for BAC test refusal, which can be added to other OWI penalties you may face, include:
First offense: Mandatory 1 year license suspension.
Second Offense: Mandatory 2 year license suspension.
Third Offense: Mandatory 5 year license suspension.
Felony Drunk Driving in MI
If you are facing a third OWI offense, or if other extenuating circumstances exist in your case, you could face penalties far greater than those for most other DUI offenses. DUI offenses causing injury or death could land you behind bars for 15 years or more, and it is critical to contact a lawyer if you are facing a felony DUI charge or if you think your case could be elevated to a felony by overzealous prosecution.
Our Approach to DUI Defense – Grabel & Associates Defense Lawyers
Our lawyers firmly believe that every client should be viewed as innocent throughout the justice process, and given every opportunity to provide enough information to the jury and judge to make a fair assessment of what really happened. We will advise you on what to say and do and break apart holes in the prosecution’s case in order to guide you to the best possible case result. We have proven our DUI defense prowess in past cases, as evidenced by our proven results. Contact us now to learn more about our aggressive criminal defense strategies.
Contact Our Criminal Defense Firm Now for DUI Representation
Our team is available 24/7 for clients statewide, and will immediately provide anyone in Muskegon with a free initial case consultation. Call our firm, toll free, at 1-800-342-7896 or online and start fighting back against DUI penalties.