Domestic Violence and Spousal Abuse
Our Domestic Violence Lawyers Aggressively Defend Domestic Assault Charges in Detroit, Lansing, Grand Rapids, Ann Arbor, and throughout Michigan
Domestic violence charges in the state of Michigan originate from the following relationships:
- Spouse (present or former) of defendant
- Person(s) in a dating relationship with the defendant
- Persons(s) sharing a child with the defendant
- Resident(s) of the defendant’s household
Domestic assault charges often generate harsher penalization than assaults, and anyone facing charges for domestic abuse, spousal battery, or stalking will require an aggressive, highly experienced criminal defense team. Contact Grabel & Associates for a dedicated domestic violence lawyer committed to the single goal of fighting to overcome your potential conviction and jail time. The defense attorneys at Grabel & Associates have abundant knowledge in handling a wide array of domestic violence charges, and will ensure you obtain the best-case results for DV charges in Michigan.
Michigan Domestic Violence Charges
As designated in Michigan state law, domestic violence is defined as an assault or battery by a person (or persons) in one of the relationships stated above. Domestic abuse is then separated into two distinct categories.
Domestic Assault (Michigan Penal Code 750.81)
In domestic assault cases, the victim does not require injuries to bring charges upon the defendant. The penalties for domestic assault or spousal assault are severe and to avoid jail time and/or monetary penalties, an aggressive domestic violence defense attorney is imperative.
Michigan state criminal penalties for domestic assault are as follows:
- 1st Conviction (misdemeanor): Jail time not exceeding 93 days and/or a $500 fine
- 2nd Conviction (misdemeanor): Jail time not exceeding one year and/or $1,000 fine
- 3rd Conviction (felony): Up to two years jail time and/or $2,500 fine
Aggravated Domestic Assault (Michigan Penal Code 750.81a)
In the state of Michigan, aggravated domestic assault charges can be laid when a victim receives serious or aggravated injuries requiring medical attention.
Michigan state criminal penalties for aggravated assault are as follows:
- 1st Conviction (misdemeanor): Jail time not exceeding one year and/or a $1,000 fine
- 2nd Conviction (felony): Up to two years jail time and/or a $2,500 fine
If you have been charged with spousal battery, domestic or aggravated assault, let our exceptional team of domestic violence defense lawyers do everything necessary to help you avoid jail time and fines.
Michigan State Stalking Charges
Stalking, as defined by Michigan state law, means a willful course of conduct involving repeated or continuing harassment of another individual that would cause a reasonable person to feel terrorized, frightened, intimidated, threatened, harassed, or molested and causes the victim to feel terrorized, frightened, intimidated, threatened, harassed, or molested.
Course of conduct can be defined in Michigan as a pattern of conduct composed of a series of two or more separate and not continuous acts evidencing a continuity of purpose.
If you have been charged with stalking in Michigan State, a proficient Michigan criminal defense lawyer is necessary.
The Michigan Penal Code defines unconsented contact as any contact with another individual that is initiated or continued without that individual’s consent or in disregard of that individual’s consent or expressed desire that the contact be avoided or discontinued. Unconsented contact is not limited to, but includes the following:
- Approaching/confronting in a public place or private property
- Following/appearing within sight
- Contact or appearance at the victim’s workplace or residence
- Entrance onto or remaining on property owned, leased, or occupied by the victim
- Sending mail or electronic communications
- Telephone contact
- Delivering an object or placing an object on victim
Michigan criminal penalties for stalking can inflict jail time up to one year and/or a $1,000 fine.
Aggravated stalking in Michigan occurs when an individual engages in stalking accompanying any of the following conditions:
- In violation of an injunction or preliminary injunction
- In violation of a restraining order with actual notice
- In violation of conditions of probation, parole bond or pretrial release, or condition of release on bond pending appeal
The criminal charge for aggravated stalking in Michigan is a felony resulting in up to five years prison time and/or a $10,000 fine.
Stalking of a Minor
If you are charged with stalking an individual who is under 18 years of age at the time of the course of conduct and are more than 5 years older than the individual, you are subject to intensified criminal penalties requiring experienced legal representation. The criminal charges for stalking a minor in Michigan are as follows:
- Stalking a Minor (felony): Up to five years jail time and/or $10,000 fine
- Aggravated Stalking of a Minor (felony): Up to ten years in jail and/or a fine of $15,000
Grabel & Associates' Aggressive Approach to Helping You Achieve the Best Results
Our Michigan criminal defense firm contests charges of domestic violence or stalking against clients. Our domestic violence lawyers in Michigan have extensive experience defending criminal charges in Michigan. We fully understand the complexity of these charges and will use our vast knowledge to effectively combat charges laid against you to ensure you avoid a conviction and jail time.
Proven Results and Superior Strategies in Defending Domestic Assault Charges
Our team has abundant expertise in helping clients stay out of jail, and our DV defense lawyers possess a mastery of the tactics involved in helping you avoid criminal penalties. Our lawyers have a proven record of accomplishment in uncovering motivations behind domestic abuse charges such as those relating to child custody, visitation rights, and divorce, and will start working immediately in order to effectively fight the charges against you.
Read our expansive record of proven results for criminal defense clients charged with all types of felony and misdemeanor crimes. Our lawyers will ensure supreme results defending your domestic abuse or spousal battery case.
Don’t Settle for Anything but the Best Michigan Criminal Defense Firm
Michigan law retains hazardous specifications concerning domestic assault arrest including arrest without warrant, prior domestic violence convictions being admissible in a court of law, and substantial increases in punishment for subsequent domestic violence charges. In order to avoid prison and criminal penalties, contact Grabel & Associates as soon as possible.
Call us toll free, 24 hours a day no matter where you are in Michigan at 1-800-342-7896, or contact our offices by email to arrange a free consultation with expert trial attorney Scott Grabel. Our domestic abuse and stalking defense attorneys are primed to deliver decisive guidance concerning domestic violence laws in Michigan, and will aggressively utilize skillful approaches to protect you against any charges of domestic abuse.