Concealed Weapons Lawyer in Michigan
Michigan law regulates the possession and use of concealed firearms, from knives to guns to explosives. If you were charged with violations of Michigan’s concealed weapons law, it’s critical to hire a Michigan defense team with gun and firearm laws and an experience that includes over 100 years of combined legal background and thousands of Michigan criminal cases, Grabel & Associates provide a thorough, vigorous defense to try and get the charges dropped, prove your innocence, or fight for reduced or alternative punishments.
And because a concealed weapons violation is a felony according to Section 750.227 of the Michigan Penal Code. Additionally, many prosecutors do not offer a misdemeanor plea, even for first offenders. Due to the high stakes of a concealed weapons charge, our criminal defense attorneys take these cases very seriously, and we’ll employ extensive resources with the goal of achieving a favorable result. To get started on your defense, call Grabel & Associates today for a free consultation.
Concealed Weapon Law and Requirements
In Michigan, you are required to have a concealed carry permit, which anyone can acquire by submitting an application to the local law enforcement agency. Applicants must also be over 21, a U.S. citizen or lawful resident, and a resident of the state of Michigan for at least 6 months prior to submitting the application. The applicant must also prove that he/she completed the necessary safety instruction course.
The concealed carry law in Michigan is Section 750.227 of the Michigan Penal Code, which states:
“(1) A person shall not carry a dagger, dirk, stiletto, a double-edged nonfolding stabbing instrument of any length, or any other dangerous weapon, except a hunting knife adapted and carried as such, concealed on or about his or her person, or whether concealed or otherwise in any vehicle operated or occupied by the person, except in his or her dwelling house, place of business or on other land possessed by the person.
(2) A person shall not carry a pistol concealed on or about his or her person, or, whether concealed or otherwise, in a vehicle operated or occupied by the person, except in his or her dwelling house, place of business, or on other land possessed by the person, without a license to carry the pistol as provided by law and if licensed, shall not carry the pistol in a place or manner inconsistent with any restrictions upon such license.”
In other words, you need a license to conceal and carry your weapon on your person or in your car. You won’t need a license to have the weapon in your house, your business, or other land that you own.
Prohibited Concealed Weapons Places
Even if you have a license, there are specific places where you cannot conceal and carry a weapon on your person or in your car. Keep in mind that these prohibited places may be defined by the city’s municipal code. For the most part, and according to Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 750.234d; 28.425o, the prohibited places include:
- Bank or financial institutions
- Churches or other houses of religious worship
- Courts or courtroom offices
- Sports arenas or entertainment facilities with a seating capacity of over 2,500 people
- Schools or day care centers
- Dormitories or college classrooms
- Establishments that serve liquor
Concealed Carry Law and Intoxication
Individuals with concealed carry licenses also cannot have their weapon (on their person or in their car) when under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If your intoxication has affected your ability to operate a firearm, or your BAC is above 0.08, then you can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances.
Penalty for a Concealed Weapons Violation
Concealed weapon violations have very serious consequences in Michigan. Of course, the severity of the conviction depends on the specific circumstances surrounding the incident. For instance, violating the concealed carry law (Section 750.227) can result in a felony, punishable by imprisonment for not more than 5 years, or by a fine of not more than $2,500.00. On the other hand, Section 750.234d states that individuals who violate the prohibited areas section of the law may be facing a misdemeanor.
How Your Michigan Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help
As your Michigan concealed weapons lawyer, we at Grabel & Associates will use our full understanding of Michigan law, as well as leading criminal defense strategies, to seek a favorable outcome, whether that’s dropped or dismissed charges, an innocent verdict, or a reduced or alternative sentencing (if the evidence is heavily weighed against you). Being convicted of a misdemeanor or felony can have very serious consequences, so get the leading attorneys in the state by contacting Grabel & Associates now.