Lansing Underage DUI Lawyer
In the state of Michigan, drivers under the age of 21 are required to comply with stricter blood alcohol content regulations, and ignorance of these laws or failure to comply can result in criminal conviction. Because of the small amounts of blood alcohol involved in most underage DUI cases, however, it is critical to do everything you can to ensure every detail of your case is properly challenged if you are accused of a Zero Tolerance drunk driving violation. Grabel & Associates Lansing DUI attorneys knows what it takes to defend both juvenile and adult clients who may be facing jail time, fines, community service, and a criminal record as a result of under-21 OWI accusations, and we are available immediately to begin working with you or your loved one after a criminal investigation or charge.
Charged With Under 21 DUI in Lansing, MI
Under the direction of experienced drunk driving defense lawyer Scott Grabel, our Lansing law firm has assisted clients in even the most complex criminal cases for over 10 years, and we have dealt with countless DUI charges and clients of all ages. Our attorneys understand the tactics that are effective in drunk driving cases and are prepared to deliver a comprehensive defense strategy throughout every stage of your case. If you have been questioned, arrested, or charged in connection with drunk driving and are under the legal drinking age of 21, call or contact us online immediately. Every day is critical when you are faced with drunk driving charges, as police and prosecutors will already be working to build a case against you, and only by working with the most skilled and experienced attorney available can you be sure you are fully protected against their aggressive investigative tactics.
Zero Tolerance Law Drunk Driving in Michigan
According to the Michigan Vehicle Code, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content level over 0.08%. Offenders can be charged with Operating While Intoxicated, or OWI, which can lead to jail time, fines, license suspension, and other serious penalties.
If, however, you are under the age of 21, you cannot legally drive with any bodily alcohol, usually detectable over 0.02%. If your BAC is over 0.08%, you can still be charged with OWI, but any amount over 0.02% could result in an underage DUI charge, which also can lead to serious punishment.
There are some exemptions to this rule, though not many. If you were required to drink for educational purposes, such as for a culinary school project, you may be able to get away with a small amount of alcohol in your system, as long as it is still under 0.08%. The same applies to alcohol consumption in connection with police or government related work, or a religious ceremony such as communion.
Whatever the specific details of your case, it is critical that you obtain a Lansing criminal defense lawyer as soon as you can so that you are protected throughout investigation and potential trial. Even if you know you are not guilty or if you likely fit one of the exemptions listed above, wrongful conviction is very possible without the help of a skilled lawyer.
Criminal Penalties for Michigan Zero Tolerance DUI
If convicted of an underage drunk driving offense, you could face any of the following penalties:
- A potential fine of between $250 for a first offense and as much as $500 for a second offense.
- Community service for up to 15 days for a first offense, and up to 60 days for a second offense.
Administrative penalties including license sanctions are also very possible. Additionally, a higher blood alcohol content level could lead to OWI charges, or OWVI charges, even if it is still not over 0.08%. Likewise, repeat offenders are more likely to be charged with a more serious drunk driving offense such as OWI.
Our Approach to Under 21 DUI Defense in Lansing, MI
Our dedicated attorneys value your freedom and your future as much as you do, and we treat every case as if it were our own. Our Lansing DUI defense lawyers are committed to providing effective defense approaches to all clients, and we know that means reviewing each detail of your case with the utmost care and competence, and building a unique defense strategy based on the specifics of your case.
Contact Grabel & Associates Now for 24/7 DUI Defense
Call 1-800-342-7896 or contact our firm online to speak with a lawyer concerning your drunk driving case. Our Lansing law firm is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to begin working with you, and we will not rest until everything has been done to protect you against wrongful conviction or excessively harsh penalties.