Grand Rapids Underage DUI Lawyer
If you are under the legal drinking age in Michigan, you can be charged with a DUI if you have any alcohol in your system while you are operating a motor vehicle. Though the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for persons over 21 is 0.08%, and for commercial drivers is 0.04%, any BAC registered by a breath or blood test could result in accusations of Operating While Intoxicated if you are 20 or younger. Normally, persons are prosecuted under Michigan’s Zero Tolerance DUI law for underage offenders if their blood alcohol content is 0.02% or higher. If you or your child has been accused of drunk driving in, contact an experienced Grand Rapids DUI defense lawyer immediately. With serious criminal penalties on the line, you need to hire the best possible legal representative as soon as you can. Grabel & Associates is available 24/7 to begin providing outstanding legal representation to adult or juvenile offenders in Grand Rapids drunk driving cases.
Charged With Drunk Driving Under the Age of 21 in Grand Rapids, MI
Alcohol consumption is illegal for persons under the age of 21 in Grand Rapids and statewide, except for a few exceptions, including:
- Alcohol consumption in connection with a religious ceremony.
- Alcohol consumption required by government or police related work.
- Alcohol consumption for educational purposes, such as that required by some culinary schools.
Any other alcohol consumption is illegal, and anyone caught driving with a recordable blood alcohol content can be charged with a DUI. Grabel & Associates is committed to defending those who have been charged with Operating While Intoxicated in Grand Rapids, and we fight to protect clients against wrongful conviction, excessive sentences, or enhanced charges. We know how to obtain the best possible results, even in tough DUI cases, and for over 10 years have been successfully representing underage offenders statewide after Zero Tolerance DUI accusations. Contact our Grand Rapids DUI defense firm now for a free initial consultation and find out more about how our effective approach could help you in your specific case.
What is Michigan’s Zero Tolerance OWI Law?
According to the Michigan Vehicle Code, specifically Section 257.625, a person under the legal drinking age of 21, whether licensed or not, may not legally drive in any area open to vehicles, including parking lots, with an alcohol content of 0.02% or more, or any other presence of alcohol resulting from consumption or liquor. Except for the exemptions listed above, anyone under 21 who drinks and drives is subject to DUI charges, regardless of if alcohol has actually affected their ability to drive or not.
Because of the strict Zero Tolerance law governing DUI offenses in Grand Rapids, underage drunk driving cases are some of the most difficult to defend. If you have been accused of a DUI, it is critical that you contact a top Michigan OWI attorney immediately.
Penalties for a Zero Tolerance DUI Conviction in Grand Rapids
If convicted of a drunk driving offense while under the age of 21, you will face up to $250 in fines and 15 days community service for a first offense, if your BAC was under the legal limit of 0.08%. If you were legally drunk and registered a BAC over 0.08%, you could be convicted of a regular OWI and face up to 93 days in prison, a fine of up to $500 driver responsibility fees, license suspension, and more.
If you already have a conviction on record, the penalties you face may be even more serious. If your BAC is under 0,08%, you could face a fine of up to $500 and up to 60 days community service. If your BAC is above 0.08%, you could face up to a year in jail, a fine of as much as $1,000, a license suspension, and other serious penalties.
Our Approach to Underage DUI Defense
Our premier Grand Rapids defense team knows how daunting a potential DUI conviction can be, and we will work to ensure you have a complete understanding of everything going on in your case throughout every stage so that you don’t have to face any unknowns. Our lawyers value individualized defense strategies, and will tailor a unique approach around your specific case details so that you are able to achieve the best possible case result. Our proven results demonstrate how effective our firm has been in defending OWI offenders in the past, and we are available 24/7 to begin working with you in your case.
Contact Grabel & Associates for 24/7 Drunk Driving Defense in Michigan
Call 1-800-342-7896 now for a free case analysis, or contact Scott Grabel or another member of our respected team by filling out the online form on our website. For more information about Zero Tolerance laws in Michigan and how it could affect your DUI case, contact a Grand Rapids defense lawyer now.