Driving Without a License Attorney in Ann Arbor
If you do not have a valid driver’s license, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in any place open to the public, which can include roads, highways, parking lots, and more. As soon as you or a loved one is accused of driving without a license, it is critical to contact an experienced defense attorney who can guide you through what you need to do to protect yourself. Grabel & Associates is a renowned Ann Arbor driver’s license reinstatement firm committed to providing top-level defense in any driving without a license case. Contact a member of our team now for free initial guidance in your case, and let us begin walking you through the steps you should be taking to avoid criminal conviction and serious penalties for driving without a license.
Each of our talented driver’s license defense lawyers know what it takes to help you avoid penalties for driving without a license and reinstate your license if it has already been suspended or revoked. Under the direction of Ann Arbor trial lawyer Scott Grabel we will fight to protect your driving privileges and guard you as you battle back against police and prosecutors who will want to take away your license, in addition to sentencing you to possible jail time and fines. With well over 10 years of experience defending clients throughout Washtenaw County, we know what it takes to achieve great case results in driver’s license cases. Get in touch now for a free initial case consultation and begin to defend against harsh penalties.
What Do I Need to Drive Legally in Ann Arbor Michigan?
In order to lawfully operate a motor vehicle, you must be of legal age, and must comply with the other requirements set out in the Michigan Vehicle Code. According to Section 257.301, anyone who operates a motor vehicle must have a valid driver’s license. If a person moves from another state with a commercial license, they only have 30 days to apply for a license transfer.
When a person is convicted of a repeat offense DUI or certain other motor vehicle related charges, he or she can have their license revoked. Driving after a license revocation is just as serious as driving without a license, and sometimes even more so, as it is already evident to the court that you would be aware you did not have a valid license.
Whether your case involves driving without a license, driving after a suspension or revocation, joyriding, auto theft, or any other specific situation, our team is available now to begin working with you as you battle back against the serious criminal penalties that could result. Contact Grabel & Associates in Ann Arbor now for a free initial case analysis and let our 24/7 representatives begin answering some of the questions you might have about driver’s license laws and how they could impact your specific case.
Criminal Penalties for Driving Without a License in Ann Arbor Michigan
If you are convicted of driving without a license in Ann Arbor, you could face the following penalties:
For a first offense, you could be sentenced to up to 93 days in jail and a $500 fine, in addition to 2 points on your driver’s license, which could lead to suspension or revocation.
For a second offense, you could face up to a year in jail and a fine of $1,000. You will also receive additional driver’s license points, and face up to 180 days of vehicle immobilization.
The penalties for third and fourth offenses are similar to second offense penalties, but it is more likely that a person will be sentenced to something closer to the maximum.
A fifth offense driving without a license conviction can lead to additional vehicle immobilization of up to 3 years.
Our Approach to Driving Without a License in Ann Arbor Defense
Our lawyers will thoroughly review every aspect of your unique situation before beginning to form an individualized defense approach based on the specific details of your situation. Let us begin walking you through some of the legal issues you are facing and what you need to do to protect against jail time, fines, and other serious penalties. We are available 24/7 by phone or online.
Contact Grabel & Associates for 24/7 Driving Without a License Defense
If you are accused of driving without a license in Ann Arbor or anywhere else in Washtenaw County, it is critical that you get in touch with our team as soon as possible. Call 1-800-342-7896 or contact us online to get started.