Canton, MI Driver's License Attorney
When your license has been suspended or revoked, for whatever reason, it can be quite limiting, even affecting your ability to drive to work or, for example, pick up your children from school. Nevertheless, using Michigan’s public roads is a privilege and not a right, and when you lose your driver’s license, getting it back can be a difficult endeavor. With the guidance and representation of a Canton, MI driver’s license attorney, you can present the State with a much stronger case to get your license restored.
At Grabel & Associates, we’ve successfully restored our clients’ licenses in over 95 percent of license review hearings, and through extensive preparation as well as detailed knowledge of Michigan driving and traffic laws, we will help you gather all the necessary paperwork, ensure that the paperwork is filled out correctly, and fully prepare you for the hearing. Regardless of the reasons as to why your license was suspended or revoked, options are available to get you back on the road and on with your life. Our law firm represents clients in Canton, MI and throughout the state.
Understanding Non-Criminal Traffic Violations in MichiganThere are many reasons why the DMV in Michigan will suspend or revoke your license, including:
- Failure to pay a traffic ticket
- Failure to maintain insurance on a vehicle registered in your name
- Too many points removed over a specific period of time
- Operating while intoxicated (OWI) with drugs or alcohol/DWI/DUI
- Refusing to submit a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test
- Using your vehicle to commit a felony
For all traffic and parking civil infractions that are not serious enough to be considered a crime, you will most likely need to pay a fine at the Traffic Division at the 35th District Court in Plymouth (this applies to all residents of Canton). If you don’t pay the ticket within 20 days, the Traffic Division will add an extra fine. If you don’t pay within 56 days, you need to contact the court (1-734-459-4740) immediately, as your license may already be suspended.
It is important to note that the Michigan Secretary of State will send you a warning letter if you lose 4 points off your license, a final warning letter after losing 8 points, and suspend your license or demand re-examination after 12 points. Points stay on the driving record in Michigan for 2 years.
Mandatory Court Appearances in Canton, MI
For some traffic violations, however, you may need to make a mandatory appearance at the 35th District Court. Failure to do so could result in the loss of your license. Violations that require a mandatory court appearance include:
- Allowing an intoxicated person to drive (0 points off your license)
- Altered license (0 points off your license)
- Drag racing (4 points off your license)
- Reckless driving (6 points off your license)
- Unlawful blood alcohol level (6 points off your license)
- Leaving the scene of personal injury or property damage accident (6 points off your license)
- Operating while visually impaired (4 points off your license)
- Disobeying police signal (2 points off your license)
- Trespassing (0 points off your license)
Steps to Get Your License Back
The steps to getting your driver’s back actually depend on how it was suspended or revoked in the first place. For example, if you are appealing a suspension or revocation that was the result of multiple substance abuse violations, there are several pieces of documentation to include, such as a current substance abuse evaluation, 3 to 6 community support letters, documentary evidence of attendance at support meetings, and the Ignition Interlock report, if applicable.
If you lost your license due to failure to appear in court (FAC) or failure to comply with judgement (FCJ), then you need to clear the FAC/FCJ first so that the Michigan Department of State can remove the suspension. Upon receiving clearance from the court, you may want to go to the 35th District Court to immediately receive a termination of suspension statement.
Sobriety Court for Canton Residents
For DUIs and/or OWIs, you may be required to attend Sobriety Court. This court is highly beneficial for offenders with two or more drinking and driving convictions. Although not all courts in Michigan have a Sobriety Court, the 35th District Court does have a program. Without Sobriety Court, a second offense can result in the loss of your license for at least a year, whereas afterwards you have to attend a hearing with the Secretary of State. Sobriety Court, on the other hand, gives you the opportunity to acquire a restricted driver’s license after a 45-day suspension. After a year, and completion of court, you can then request a hearing for a full license.
Contact Grabel & Associates To Get Your License Back
Losing your driver’s license can be a tedious, complicated affair, and it can have serious negative effects on your work, your family life, and your social life. When appearing for a hearing, whether at traffic court or sobriety court, or even with the Secretary of State, it is essential to have an accomplished driver’s license attorney at your side. For years, Grabel & Associates has helped thousands across Michigan recover their licenses, and we’ll make sure that you have all the materials you need and that you’re fully prepared for your hearings. Contact Grabel & Associates now at 1-800-342-7896 to get your license back and get you on the road again.