Muskegon Child Molestation and Sexual Abuse Lawyer
There is no specific “Child Molestation” charge in Michigan, which can work against anyone accused of a child sex abuse related crime. Instead, alleged offenders will be charged with Criminal Sexual Conduct (CSC), which is an extremely serious felony in the 1st through 3rd degrees, and a similarly serious misdemeanor if in the 4th degree. Grabel & Associates has extensive experience defending clients who have been wrongly accused of Criminal Sexual Conduct in Muskegon County, and we know what it takes to protect West Michigan clients after wrongful accusations. Contact our Michigan firm now for a free initial case consultation and begin your fight for justice. We are available 24/7 to work with clients in both misdemeanor and felony CSC cases.
If someone has accused you of child molestation or sexual abuse, you need to utilize your right to remain silent, even if you know you are innocent and feel you can talk your way out of it. Contrary to what they may initially present, the police are not on your side and do not have your best interests at heart. Anything you say during investigation or arrest could come back to hurt you if your case goes to trial. Work with an attorney who is dedicated to standing up for your rights and defending your freedom throughout every stage of your case.
For over a decade, our Muskegon sex crimes lawyers have been committed to protecting clients throughout Muskegon County and our proven strategies have been effective in even the most difficult sex crimes cases. Contact a member of our experienced team now and begin fighting for a just case result.
Michigan Sex Offense Laws
According to Michigan law, specifically Section 750.520 of the Penal Code, criminal sexual conduct occurs when a person engages in sexual activity or penetration with a minor, or an adult who meets certain requirements. If penetration occurs and the alleged victim is under 13, or between 13 and 16 and a relative, student, or other minor under the authority of the alleged offender, 1st degree CSC charges can result. If sexual contact without penetration occurs, 2nd degree charges can result. For cases involving alleged victims between 13 and 16 who do not meet any of the requirements for 1st or 2nd degree charges, 3rd degree CSC or 4th degree CSC conviction is still possible.
Our lawyers know that wrongful conviction can easily result from false sex crimes allegations, misunderstood child testimony, custody battles, or other circumstances, and we are dedicated to protecting Michigan’s accused from life-changing penalties. We know how quick most people will be to label you guilty after child sex abuse allegations and value your right to be viewed as innocent unless it can convincingly be demonstrated without any doubt that you are guilty of the alleged offense. Let us protect you throughout investigation and a potential trial. Contact Grabel & Associates right away to get started.
Criminal Penalties for Child Molestation in Muskegon County
If convicted of child molestation or sexual abuse, you could be sentenced to the following:
- 1st degree CSC conviction: felony criminal record, sex offender registration, life in prison.
- 2nd degree CSC conviction: felony criminal record, sex offender registration, 15 years in prison.
- 3rd degree CSC conviction: felony criminal record, sex offender registration, 15 years in prison, lifetime monitoring.
- 4th degree CSC conviction: misdemeanor criminal record, sex offender registration, up to 2 years in prison, a fine of up to $500.
Fight back against wrongful conviction and excessively harsh criminal penalties by hiring an attorney who understands what it takes to win in tough CSC cases. We are available 24/7 to begin working with you.
Our Approach to Child Molestation and Sex Abuse Cases
At Grabel & Associates, we understand that child sex abuse and molestation cases are among the most sensitive criminal cases, and among the most difficult for defendants to handle. When it seems like everyone is against you, it is critical to have an experienced legal representative on your side to help you prove your innocence and defend your freedom. Our attorneys will look over every detail of your case and develop an effective defense strategy based on your unique situation. We know how to uncover ulterior motives for CSC accusations and understand the Muskegon County courts and how your case will proceed through the justice system.
Contact Grabel & Associates 24/7 for Sex Crimes Defense in Muskegon
To speak with an attorney now, call 1-800-342-7896 or contact our firm online. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and can immediately begin answering any questions you may have about the legal situation of yourself or your loved one. Don’t hesitate to contact a lawyer, as police are likely already working to build a convincing case against you, and they know how to uncover details that can be used against you even when no real evidence exists. Let our lawyers protect you and defend your rights throughout your case.