A DUI can be a felony or a misdemeanor in Southfield, Michigan, depending on the specific details of the case and the offender’s history. Anyone with two previous convictions that are relevant for sentencing purposes will face felony DUI charges, as will those who cause serious injury or death as a result of a DUI. No matter what the specifics of the case, you should work with an attorney to protect yourself. Our lawyers are committed to doing everything we can to fight for those accused of misdemeanor or felony DUI in Southfield, and our proven results demonstrate that we know how to achieve great case results, even in the most complex and difficult cases. Contact our firm by phone or online now for a free initial case consultation and begin fighting for your freedom. We are available 24/7 for clients in Southfield and statewide.
Trial lawyer Scott Grabel knows how much is at stake in felony cases, and has committed well over a decade to protecting the rights and freedom of those accused of third offense felony DUI in Southfield. Under his guidance, our team will direct you through the steps you need to take to achieve an exceptional case result, and in the past our work has led to reduced charges, case dismissals, deferred sentences and other outstanding outcomes. Call now and gain access to a wealth of legal knowledge from some of the highest rated attorneys in the state. We are prepared to work with you throughout every stage of your Southfield felony DUI case, and you can never hire an attorney too soon, so why not act now. Call 1-800-342-7896 or contact us online to get started.
Operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol is illegal, and can lead to serious criminal penalties. This criminal charge is officially referred to as OWI in Michigan, which stands for Operating While Intoxicated. Usually, police prove intoxicated through BAC evidence, coming from either a breathalyzer or blood test. It is possible to be convicted with a BAC below the legal limit of 0.08%, though these cases are rare.
The most serious drunk driving penalties are reserved for those who are repeat offenders. There used to be a time limit on offenses for sentencing, meaning that after a number of years, a prior conviction would not count against your record, but for felony third time offenses, past OWI convictions never expire as a result of recent legal changes. This means that anyone with two past DUIs in their lifetime who is then convicted of a third offense will face a felony record.
In Southfield and statewide, misdemeanors usually lead to significantly less harsh maximum penalties, with under two years behind bars on the line in nearly every case. This isn’t the only difference between a misdemeanor and felony, however. A felony criminal record can bar a person from getting loans, traveling, and finding work, whereas a misdemeanor rarely has as serious of effects. While both types of conviction can be devastating, a felony record and the corresponding effects should be avoided at all costs, a goal only attainable for those who work with qualified defense lawyers. Contact Grabel & Associates now to learn more about our Southfield felony DUI tactics.
According to Southfield drunk driving laws, anyone who is convicted of a third OWI offense can face a minimum fine of $500, up to a maximum of $5,000, along with at least a year behind bars, with a maximum of up to 5 years. No other DUI offense results in harsh mandatory penalties, which makes it critical to fight back against felony DUI charges.
At Grabel & Associates, we know how valuable your freedom is, and will treat your case as if it were our own freedom on the line. Let us walk you through every detail of your case and consider every available legal remedy while protecting your rights throughout the process. Our attorneys know what it takes to achieve a great result in a probable cause hearing, a trial, plea bargaining, or even just throughout the pre-file investigation. Don’t wait – contact our team now.
Our skilled case analysts can be reached toll free at 1-800-342-7896 at any time, and for those not near a phone we can also help you through our online contact form. Get in touch with our team and learn more about the steps you need to take to protect yourself after drunk driving allegations.