The Michigan Child Protection Law was enacted in order to protect children under the age of 18 that may be susceptible to child abuse and neglect. It requires certain individuals in a position of authority, mandated reporters, to report any suspicion of child abuse. While this law serves a good purpose, it often results in wrongful accusations that can be extremely harmful to families. When a mandatory reporter calls in suspected child abuse to CPS, a social worker will begin working on the case and investigating the claim. Social workers take their jobs very seriously, and treat parents as if they are guilty until proven innocent. If you’re under investigation for child abuse or neglect, it’s crucial to hire a CPS attorney in Michigan with experience as soon as possible. The claims may seem ridiculous to you, but in the eyes of the social worker, they are required to be viewed as truth.
The team at Grabel & Associates has been defending Michigan’s wrongfully accused for over 15 years, and knows what it takes to be successful in and out of court. Our goal is to help you prove your innocence, whatever it takes. We know what’s at stake in cases involving children, and are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to start building a strong defense for you. Give us a call at 1-800-342-7896 to learn more about how the Grabel & Associates team can help you.
There are several physical and behavioral signs that are commonly seen in child abuse and neglect cases. If your child exhibits any of the signs listed below, a mandatory reporter will most likely call in suspected child abuse to CPS.
Mandatory reporters are trained to recognize the indicators listed above. As a parent, it’s important to stay up to date with doctor visits and provide an explanation for any accidental injuries. If an individual in an authoritative position suspects that you are providing inadequate care or abusing your child in any way, CPS will most likely show up at your front door to investigate the claims and may attempt to remove your child or children from your home.
Mandated reporters are individuals with an established relationship with child clients, patients, students, etc. Once they obtain enough information to make a report, they are legally required to call it in to DHS. There are criminal penalties for a mandated reporter’s failure to report child abuse or neglect, so it’s crucial that reporters understand their duties. The list of mandatory reporters in Michigan is quite long. It includes the following individuals:
For a complete list of mandatory reporters in Michigan, please review the full list on the Michigan government website. If you’re a mandated reporter and you have questions about your duties or are facing criminal penalties for failure to submit a report, contact Grabel & Associates.
The attorneys at Grabel & Associates have ample experience defending accused parents and mandated reporters that failed to call in suspicion of abuse or neglect. If you’re involved in any child abuse and neglect case, give our team a call as soon as possible. We’re ready to put our knowledge to work in your case, and will aggressively battle on your behalf. Protecting your future and the future of your family is our top priority. We’ll do whatever it takes to prove your innocence and will conduct our own investigations as necessary. If you need to help standing up to CPS, contact us today.
The Grabel & Associates team understands that your case is time sensitive. We’re available to you 24/7 to provide you with a free initial case consultation and to get you on track to receiving your desired results. Call 1-800-342-7896 or fill out our online contact form to get in touch with a talented member of your team. Remember, it’s never too early to start building a solid defense.