The state of Michigan requires certain individuals to report suspected child abuse. If a mandated reporter fails to report indications of abuse or neglect, he or she may potentially face criminal penalties. If you’re a caregiver or in a position of authority, you should review the Michigan government’s list of mandated reporters and look over the list of common child abuse and neglect indicators. This knowledge will enable you to perform your legal obligations and help protect yourself from possible punishment. If you need help understanding how the Michigan Child Protection Law applies to you, reach out to a member of the Grabel & Associates team. Our CPS attorneys understand the ins and outs of the Michigan Child Protection Law, so if you’ve been accused of failing to report child abuse or neglect, reach out to our team as soon as possible. The earlier you obtain legal representation, the better your chances are of proving your innocence.
The list of mandated reporters consists of individuals that are in direct contact with children and their families. Teachers, caregivers, clergy members, and counselors are just a few of the individuals that are required to report suspicion of abuse or neglect. These people are an essential part of the child protection system. Because of their expertise and regular interaction with children, reports made by mandated reports are confirmed almost twice as often and those made by non-mandated reports. When a mandated reporter makes a call to DHS, the social workers pay attention. There are civil and criminal penalties for mandated reporters that fail to make a report and civil and criminal immunity for mandated reports that make a report in good faith. If you’re a mandated reporter and have reason to suspect abuse or neglect, it’s always smart to call it in.
If you are being accused of not reporting suspected child abuse, contact the Grabel & Associates team. We will review the details of your case and help you prove that you did not have sufficient evidence to warrant a report, or work with the details of your case to build an alternative defense.
Children that are being abused or neglected often show similar physical and behavioral indicators.
If you’re a mandated reporter, reviewing the government’s list of indicators will help you be more aware of the signs, so you can recognize when a child is in need of help. Common indicators include the following:
If you’re a mandated reporter and notice any of the signs listed above, you’re required by law to make an immediate verbal report to DHS, followed by a written report within 72 hours of the incident. You are not required to investigate the matter or even provide a list of potential suspects. Child Protective Services will follow up with your report and handle the rest of the case.
If you’re caught up in a child abuse or neglect case, you’ll need the help of a seasoned defense attorney. The Grabel & Associates team understands that time plays a crucial role in child abuse and neglect cases. We are available to you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to provide you with a free initial case consultation and to get you on track to receiving a favorable outcome in your case.
In child abuse and neglect cases, the stakes are extremely high. An unfavorable result could result in the loss of your job or other harmful punishments. The sooner you reach out a skilled defense attorney, the better your chances will be of achieving the best available outcome. To get in touch with the Grabel & Associates team, simply call 1-800-342-7896 or fill out our online contact form. We’re willing to step in at any stage of your case and will aggressively battle on your behalf.